The collaboration between Jazz à Vienne and Nuits sonores finally materializes in 2017. Convinced of their philosophical and aesthetical complementarity, and beyond territorial bonds, this ambitious project of transverse cooperation aims to overthrow the habits of the respective audiences of the two festivals in order to break the codes to bring people together and create diversity, ideas the two neighbours are very attached to. Together, Nuits Sonores and Jazz à Vienne invite the public to discover the universe of a prestigious artist in the ideal setting that is the Roman Theatre of Vienne, for an exceptionally great event.

Cris Sonores project…

Since 2015, Arty Farty leave its day line-up, NS Days, between the hands of flagship artists from the electronic cultures. Following on the tradition of the NS Days, this project Cris Sonores ... is thought as a tribute to Nicolas Jaar ‘s work. The artist will have a real personal work and will take up the challenge of displaying his influences, his history, as much as his contemporary vision of music.

Cris Sonores curated by Nicolas Jaar will take place in Vienne on a night format, from 18:00 to 01:30, sublimated by the indescribable atmosphere of the Roman Theatre, a stone colossus with 2,000 years of history.

Event on

http://www.welovegreen.fr/wp-content/uploads/2017/02/NicolasJaar_300dpi_RGB.jpg

18 :00-19 :00 : NICOLAS JAAR

(Other People / New York / United States) Ambient dj set

Few are those who, at age 27, can boast of having a CV that thick and having developed a level of perfection in composition and production that compares with Nicolas Jaar’s. New Yorker with Chilean origins, born of a father (Afredo Jaar) Guggenheim approuved and of a French mother, Nicolas has all grown-up since the publication of his first EP "The Student" in 2008.

When the media announced it as The Next Big Thing in 2011, after the release of its excellent first album Space Is Only Noise, one can only be curious to discover this timeless UFO.

Throughout his young career, he made a point to establish, at each of his exits, the legitimacy of his precocious maturity. Leonard Cohen, Aphex Twin, and Dave Brubeck are some of his first influences, extending to a musical spectrum that crosses jazz and soul to find a place in the heart of a stellar house music.

A handful of EP later, a trip to the Darkside project, alongside Dave Harrington, is real success both artistic and media, a soundtrack for the film Dheepan (rewarded at the Cannes festival in 2015) by Jacques Audiard and Remixes for Brian Eno, Florence and the Machine and Missy Elliott. The one for whom music is "sacred" returned in 2016 with a second album, "Sirens", a masterly contemporary work made of songs of birds, latin sounds, the whole wrapped in a perfectly controlled distortion, punctuated by arrhythmic percussions.

 

http://elektronmusikstudion.se/images/Pan_Daijing.jpg

19: 00-19: 45: PAN DAIJING

(PAN / Berlin - Allemagne) Live

Chinese producer and live performer based in Berlin, Pan Daijing delivers music based on improvisation and on her personal experiences. From her childhood in a conservative Chinese family to her architectural and physical explorations, one finds in her productions a brutality of a rare fragility losing itself in the dark cinematographic atmospheres.

After a first EP released on Noisekölln Tapes in 2016, Pan Daijing just made her debut with Bedouin Records, label on which she released her EP "A Satin Sight", featuring her most dancing titles to date.

https://nyoobserver.files.wordpress.com/2016/10/13912497_1152202011504771_2621264356944511805_n.jpg?quality=80&w=459

20:45-21:30: HELADO NEGRO

(Asthmatic Kitty / New York - United States) Live

Roberto Carlos Lange, son of Ecuadorian immigrant, was born and raised in the humidity and tropical heat of southern Florida, where Hispanic and North American manners meet in a shock of melting pot. In Brooklyn, he sings, under the name Helado Negro, his latin roots, in English, in Spanish, using his music to eradicate geographical and linguistic barriers.

In 2016, the ninth album of Helado Negro was released with the excellent label Asthmatic Kitty, founded by Sufjan Stevens. With "Private Energy", inspired by the Michael Brown case that shook the United States in 2014, the artist invites us to reflect on the questions of identity and moral principle, on an airy and emotive electronic pop background, scoring at the same time a beautiful 8.1 by Pitchfork. Well deserved.

 

http://theyoungturks.co.uk/images/uploads/releases/amnesia-scanner-front-600px.jpg

22:30-23:30 AMNESIA SCANNER

(Young Turks Recordings Ltd / Berlin - Germany) Live

Finnish duo based in Berlin, Amnesia Scanner is a master in the art of blur. Very little information filters on this "group" which describes itself as "Xperienz Designers". Their productions, between noise, experimental techno and bass music, are brutal and futuristic, as their imagery evolves between ghostly videos, cranial tattoos and molecular biohacking.

 

http://www.the-drone.com/magazine/media/2015/07/billkouligas.jpg

19:45-20:45: BILL KOULIGAS

(PAN / Berlin - Germany) Dj set

Bill Kouligas was a member of the group Noise Family Battle Snake before founding Pan, a multidisciplinary and forward-thinking label whose impeccable artworks are recognized between all.

He freely describes himself as a curator who brings together artists from Keith Fullerton Whitman to Lee Gamble and who produces music bordering noise and electronica.

His latest performances explore the relationship between genres, technology and electronic music.

https://acc-ess.ch/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/dj_hvad_.jpg

23:10-00:00: HVAD

(Syg Nok / Copenhagen - Denmark) Hybrid set

His real name is Hari Shankar Kishore, HVAD (translation of "What?" In Danish) defies Danish culture since the 2000s. Used to destabilize his audience by playing with codes (he played in police uniform and usurped Trentemøller's identity among others), his unclassifiable music is an abrasive mix of grime, Indian percussion, punjabi breakcore, and of all kinds of metal sounds.

http://tracks.arte.tv/sites/default/files/9_show_me_the_body_c_adam_kissick.jpg

21:30-22:30: SHOW ME THE BODY

(Letter Racer / New York - United States) Live

New Yorkers Julian Cashwan Pratt, 22, Harlan Steed, 21, and Noah Cohen-Corbett, 20, formed the trio of Show Me The Body in 2012. Hip-hop and hardcore lovers, they offer music that sometimes provokes euphoria, sometimes stupor. Two EPs were enough for SMTB members to make a name for themselves in the underground scene. The group defends the importance of establishing a link between the city where one lives and what is created there, a great bargain for those twenty-year-olds who all come from the effervescent Big Apple. From the city in perpetual change, Show Me The Body draws the chaotic material necessary for their music with crossing punk, hardcore and hip-hop ... The electric guitar thrown away, the three boys from Queens run from the clichés and do punk with the banjo and fight during their concerts.

 

Purchase your tickets
Single fee: 35 €
(On site fee: 38 €)

Purchase tickets

Take advantage of the Train + Concert offer
2 ways Lyon-Vienne ticket
at 40,20 €

Train + Concert offer

For your expenses on site,
Register now for your Pass Cashless

Register for my Pass Cashless

La concrétisation d’une collaboration entre Jazz à Vienne et Nuits sonores aura attendu 2017 pour se révéler. Convaincus de leur complémentarité philosophique et esthétique, au-delà des liens territoriaux, ce projet de coopération transversal et ambitieux vise à bouleverser les habitudes des publics respectifs des deux festivals et ainsi briser les codes pour créer la rencontre et susciter la mixité, auxquelles sont fortement attachés les deux voisins. Ensemble, Nuits sonores et Jazz à Vienne invitent le public à découvrir l’univers d’un artiste prestigieux dans un écrin idéal qu’est le Théâtre Antique de Vienne, pour une date assurément exceptionnelle.

Le projet Cris Sonores...

Depuis 2015, Arty Farty laisse les commandes de la programmation de son programme de jour, NS Days, à des artistes phares des cultures électroniques.

Dans la lignée des NS Days, ce projet Cris Sonores... est pensé comme un hommage au travail de Nicolas Jaar. L’artiste effectuera un vrai travail personnel et relèvera le défi de distiller ses influences, son histoire mais aussi sa vision contemporaine de la musique.

Cris Sonores curated by Nicolas Jaar prendra forme à Vienne sur un format de nuit, de 18h00 à 01h30, sublimé par l’atmosphère indescriptible du Théâtre Antique, colosse de pierres empreint de 2 000 ans d’histoire.

Evénement

https://consequenceofsound.files.wordpress.com/2016/09/nicolas-jaar1.png?w=802

18h00-19h00 : NICOLAS JAAR

(Other People / New York / Etats-Unis)
Ambient dj set

Rares sont ceux qui, à 27 ans, peuvent se targuer de posséder un CV aussi épais et d’avoir développé un niveau de perfection dans la composition et la production que Nicolas Jaar. New-yorkais aux origines chiliennes, né d’un père (Afredo Jaar) adoubé par le Guggenheim, d’une mère française, Nicolas a bien grandi depuis la parution de son premier EP “The Student” en 2008.

Lorsque les médias l’annoncent comme The Next Big Thing en 2011, suite à la sortie de son excellent premier album Space Is Only Noise, on ne peut qu’être curieux de découvrir cet ovni intemporel.

C’est bien mal connaître le garçon qui a, tout au long de sa jeune carrière, mis un point d’honneur à asseoir, à chacune de ses sorties, la légitimité de sa maturité précoce. Celui qui revendique volontiers Leonard Cohen, Aphex Twin et Dave Brubeck comme faisant partie de ses influences premières, étend un spectre musical qui traverse le jazz et la soul pour aller se loger au cœur d’une house music stellaire.

Une poignée de maxis plus tard, une escapade au sein du projet Darkside, aux côtés de Dave Harrington, réel succès aussi bien artistique, que médiatique, une bande originale pour le film Dheepan (récompensé au festival de Cannes en 2015) de Jacques Audiard et des remixes pour Brian Eno, Florence and the Machine ou encore Missy Elliott, celui pour qui la musique est “sacrée” est revenu en 2016 avec un second album, “Sirens”, œuvre contemporaine magistrale faite de chants d’oiseaux, de sonorités latines, le tout enveloppé dans une distorsion parfaitement maîtrisée et ponctué de percussions arythmiques.

 

http://elektronmusikstudion.se/images/Pan_Daijing.jpg

19h00-19h45 : PAN DAIJING

(PAN / Berlin - Allemagne) Live

Performeuse et productrice chinoise installée à Berlin, Pan Daijing délivre une musique basée sur l’improvisation et ses expériences personnelles. De son enfance au sein d’une famille chinoise conservatrice à ses explorations architecturales et physiques, on retrouve dans ses productions une brutalité d’une rare fragilité se perdant dans l’ambiance sombre d’atmosphères cinématographiques.

Après un premier EP publié sur Noisekölln Tapes en 2016, Pan Daijing vient de faire ses débuts sur Bedouin Records, label sur lequel elle a sorti son EP “A Satin Sight” , comportant ses titres à ce jour les plus dansants.

https://nyoobserver.files.wordpress.com/2016/10/13912497_1152202011504771_2621264356944511805_n.jpg?quality=80&w=459

20h45-21h30 : HELADO NEGRO

(Asthmatic Kitty / New-York - États-Unis) Live

Roberto Carlos Lange, fils d’immigré équatorien, est né et a grandi dans l’humidité et la chaleur tropicale du Sud de la Floride, où les mœurs hispaniques et nord-américains s’entremêlent dans un choc des cultures bouillonnant. Depuis Brooklyn, il chante, sous l’alias d’Helado Negro, ses racines latines, en anglais, en espagnol, usant de sa musique pour éradiquer les barrières géographiques et linguistiques.

En 2016, le neuvième album d’Helado Negro est sorti sur l’excellent label Asthmatic Kitty, fondé par Sufjan Stevens. Avec “Private Energy” , inspiré par l’affaire Michael Brown qui a secoué les États-Unis en 2014, l’artiste invite à la réflexion sur les questions d’identité et de principe moral, sur fond de pop électronique émotive et planante, se fendant par la même occasion de la belle note de 8.1 par Pitchfork. Mérité.

 

http://theyoungturks.co.uk/images/uploads/releases/amnesia-scanner-front-600px.jpg

22h30-23h30 : AMNESIA SCANNER

(Young Turks Recordings Ltd / Berlin - Allemagne) Live

Duo finlandais basé à Berlin, Amnesia Scanner est passé maître dans l’art du brouillage. Très peu d’informations filtrent sur ce « groupe » qui se décrit comme « Xperienz Designers ». Leurs productions, entre noise, techno expérimentale et bass music sont brutales et futuristes, tout comme leur imagerie qui évolue entre vidéos fantomatiques, tatouages crâniens et biohacking moléculaire.

 

http://www.the-drone.com/magazine/media/2015/07/billkouligas.jpg

19h45-20h45 : BILL KOULIGAS

(PAN / Berlin - Allemagne) Dj set

Bill Kouligas a officié au sein du groupe noise Family battle snake avant de fonder Pan, label multidisciplinaire et avant-gardiste dont les artworks impeccables se reconnaissent entre tous.

Il se décrit volontiers comme un curateur qui réunit des artistes allant de Keith Fullerton Whitman à Lee Gamble et produit une musique aux frontière du noise et de l’electronica.

Ses dernières performances explorent les relations entre genres, technologie et musique électronique.

23h10-00h00 : HVAD

(Syg Nok / Copenhague - Danemark) Hybrid set

De son vrai nom Hari Shankar Kishore, HVAD (traduction de « Quoi ? » en danois) défie la culture danoise depuis les années 2000. Habitué à déstabiliser son public en jouant avec les codes (il a joué en uniforme de policier et a usurpé l’identité de Trentemøller entre autres), sa musique inclassable est un mélange abrasif de grime, de percussions indiennes, de breakcore punjabi, et de sons métalliques en tout genre.

http://tracks.arte.tv/sites/default/files/9_show_me_the_body_c_adam_kissick.jpg

21h30-22h30 : SHOW ME THE BODY

(Letter Racer / New York - Etats-Unis) Live

Originaires de New York, Julian Cashwan Pratt, 22 ans, Harlan Steed, 21 ans et Noah Cohen-Corbett, 20 ans forment le trio de Show Me The Body en 2012. Amateurs de hip-hop et de hardcore, les New-Yorkais proposent une musique suscitant tantôt l’euphorie, tantôt la stupeur. Deux EPs auront suffi aux membres de SMTB pour se faire un nom au sein de la scène underground. Le groupe défend l’importance de l’établissement d’un lien  entre la ville où l’on vit et ce qu’y s’y crée, une belle aubaine pour ces vingtenaires qui sont tous trois originaires de l’effervescente Big Apple. D’une ville en perpétuel changement, Show Me The Body puise la matière chaotique nécessaire à une musique aux sonorités croisant punk, hardcore et hip-hop… La guitare électrique au placard, les trois sales gamins du Queens fuient les clichés, font du punk au banjo et se tapent dessus pendant leurs concerts.

 

https://consequenceofsound.files.wordpress.com/2016/09/nicolas-jaar1.png?w=802

00h00-01h10 : NICOLAS JAAR

(Other People / New York / Etats-Unis)
Live

Rares sont ceux qui, à 27 ans, peuvent se targuer de posséder un CV aussi épais et d’avoir développé un niveau de perfection dans la composition et la production que Nicolas Jaar. New-yorkais aux origines chiliennes, né d’un père (Afredo Jaar) adoubé par le Guggenheim, d’une mère française, Nicolas a bien grandi depuis la parution de son premier EP “The Student” en 2008.

Lorsque les médias l’annoncent comme The Next Big Thing en 2011, suite à la sortie de son excellent premier album Space Is Only Noise, on ne peut qu’être curieux de découvrir cet ovni intemporel.

C’est bien mal connaître le garçon qui a, tout au long de sa jeune carrière, mis un point d’honneur à asseoir, à chacune de ses sorties, la légitimité de sa maturité précoce. Celui qui revendique volontiers Leonard Cohen, Aphex Twin et Dave Brubeck comme faisant partie de ses influences premières, étend un spectre musical qui traverse le jazz et la soul pour aller se loger au cœur d’une house music stellaire.

Une poignée de maxis plus tard, une escapade au sein du projet Darkside, aux côtés de Dave Harrington, réel succès aussi bien artistique, que médiatique, une bande originale pour le film Dheepan (récompensé au festival de Cannes en 2015) de Jacques Audiard et des remixes pour Brian Eno, Florence and the Machine ou encore Missy Elliott, celui pour qui la musique est “sacrée” est revenu en 2016 avec un second album, “Sirens”, œuvre contemporaine magistrale faite de chants d’oiseaux, de sonorités latines, le tout enveloppé dans une distorsion parfaitement maîtrisée et ponctué de percussions arythmiques.

 

Achetez vos billets
tarif unique : 35 €
(tarif guichet le soir-même : 38 €)

Acheter des billets

Profitez de l'offre Train + Concert
Aller/retour Lyon-Vienne
à 40,20 €

Offre train+concert

Pour vos consommations
sur place, créez votre Pass Cashless maintenant

Je crée mon Pass Cashless