The Musaïcs

Concerts at the Gallo-Roman Museum, Saint-Romain-en-Gal/Vienne

The Gallo-Roman Museum in Saint-Romain-en-Gal/Vienne opens up to Jazz à Vienne for five events to uncover and experience another historical site during the festival.

ELODIE PASQUIER SOLO

 

WEDNESDAY 5 JULY, 4pm

What Elodie Pasquier conjures up with throbbing eddies and great cascades is a small space where music reveals its intention to break hearts. Alone with clarinets that can only play a note at a time and a sun-kissed breeze...It’s the ebony hiding the forest: the solitary time of a devotee to group experiences (with Bruno Tocanne, OrTie, The Very Big Experimental Toubifri Orchestra, Mona and Grolektif) treating our ears to a soaring journey both for a breath of fresh air and a sense of vertigo.

LINE-UP: Elodier Pasquier (cl)

 

MANUEL ADNOT "UENO PARK"

THURSDAY 6 JULY, 4pm

Ueno Park is guitarist Manuel Adnot’s solo project (Sidony Box, April Fishes, Aeris). Ueno Park’s first album, Dix-mille yeux, is a travel journal recorded in a corridor, chapel and studio over a year. A nylon guitar with no amplifiers or effects. It goes back to acoustics and the relationship between body and wood. The music is totally improvised and inspired by the places where it’s performed. It delves into trance, contemporary music and pop. Some of the album is inspired by Conversations with myself by the pianist Bill Evans; an improvised “overdubbing” sequence based on the idea of a guitar being played instantly without listening to the previous or next recording (up to four guitars).

LINE-UP: Manu Adnot (g)

 

TRI4TH "SILENT ANIME MEETS JAZZ"

FRIDAY 7 JULY, 4pm

Japanese anime may be little-known and often just seen as TV productions but it is one of the most exciting forms of art at the moment. In Japan, animation isn’t just children’s films. On the contrary, it has a huge audience and is a film genre integral to Japanese culture. Anime appeals to a wide audience. It is popular with children but adults love its productions made especially for them. Japanese brand TRI4TH bring us an original musical production revisiting Japanese anime with a special concert for Jazz à Vienne.

As part of Traits de Jazz and in partnership with the Tokyo Jazz Festival

 

YUMI DUO

SATURDAY 9 JULY, 4pm

Yumi are a duo from Lyon who got together 3 years ago. The musicians have different influences and backgrounds but put their creative powers together to launch a project. After several artistic research residencies, they create a rich and vibrant style that takes audiences into a dream world where everyone has their own gateway.

LINE-UP: Antoine Noyer (perc) and Tanguy Gallavardin (p, cl)

 

COLOMBIAN MUSICAL BRUNCH - NILAMAYÉ

CONCERT- DANCE BRUNCH

SUNDAY 9 JULY, 12pm

Nilamayé is an Afro-Colombian group inspired by music related to sea and river water synonymous with life, joy and togetherness. With the smoothly exuberant vocals, warm tones awash with chonta marimba, deep sounds from the cununos and bombos, glossy guasas and maracas and the rhythmic energy of the alegre tambourine, Nilamayé shares Colombia’s “infectious joy” with audiences. Colombia is coming to Vienne for brunch.

Alternative in the event of rain/Several shaded areas.

Sponsored by Rhône Council.
Musée de Saint-Romain-en-Gal - Vienne RD 502 - 69560 Saint-Romain-en-Gal - Tel: (00 33) (0)4 74 53 74 01 - www.musees-gallo-romains.com

Les Musaïques

Pendant le festival, le musée Gallo-Romain ouvre ses portes à Jazz à Vienne pour cinq événements à découvrir et à savourer dans un autre lieu historique du festival.
Concerts gratuits.

ELODIE PASQUIER SOLO

MERCREDI 5 JUILLET, 16H

Ce que Elodie Pasquier dessine à grand renfort de vifs remous et de grandes cascades, c’est un petit espace où la musique ne cache pas son intention de crever les cœurs. Seule avec des clarinettes qui ne savent jouer qu’une note à la fois, et un souffle solaire...C’est l’ébène qui cache la forêt : l’épopée solitaire d’une abonnée aux expériences collectives (avec Bruno Tocanne, OrTie, The Very Big Experimental Toubifri Orchestra, son groupe Mona ou encore le Grolektif) offrant aux oreilles de passage un bond en altitude, tant pour les bienfaits de l’air pur que pour la sensation de vertige.
LINE-UP : Elodier Pasquier (cl)

 

MANUEL ADNOT “UENO PARK”

JEUDI 6 JUILLET, 16H

Ueno Park est le projet solo du guitariste Manuel Adnot (Sidony Box, April Fishes, Aeris). Enregistré dans un couloir, une chapelle ou en studio, le premier album de Ueno Park Dix- mille yeux est un carnet de voyage enregistré durant toute une année. Une guitare nylon sans ampli et sans effet. Il s’agit d’un retour à l’acoustique et au rapport seul entre le corps et le bois. La musique y est totalement improvisée et s’inspire des lieux dans lesquels elle est jouée, elle se rapproche parfois de la transe, de la musique contemporaine ou de la pop- music. On retrouve sur une partie du disque un travail inspiré du Conversations with myself du pianiste Bill Evans, à savoir une série improvisée en “overdubbing” avec pour principe qu’une guitare est tout de suite jouée sans réécoute sur l’enregistrement de la précédente et ainsi de suite (jusqu’à quatre guitares).
LINE-UP : Manu Adnot (g)

 

TRI4TH “SILENT ANIME MEETS JAZZ”

VENDREDI 7 JUILLET, 16H

Méconnu du public, souvent assimilé à la seule production télé visuelle, le cinéma d’animation japonais est pourtant l’une des formes artistiques actuellement les plus riches. Au Japon, l’animation n’est pas un registre cinématographique mineur. Bien au contraire, son audience auprès du public est immense et ce cinéma fait partie intégrante de la culture japonaise. Le cinéma d’animation s’adresse à un public très large. Bien évidemment, il est apprécié des enfants, mais il peut aussi passionner les adultes au travers de productions spécialement réalisées à leur intention. Sur une production musicale originale des musiciens du groupe japonais TRI4TH, ils revisitent le cinéma d’animation japonais avec une création spéciale pour le festival de Jazz à Vienne.
Dans le cadre de Traits de Jazz et en partenariat avec le Tokyo Jazz Festival

 

YUMI DUO

SAMEDI 8 JUILLET, 16H

Yumi est un duo lyonnais né il y a 3 ans de la rencontre entre deux musiciens aux influences et aux parcours différents. Ils ont choisi de mettre leur créativité au service d’un projet commun. Après plusieurs résidences de recherche artistique, ils ont donné vie à une musique riche et variée, plongeant l’auditoire dans une rêverie dont chacun aurait sa propre clé.
LINE-UP : Antoine Noyer (perc) et Tanguy Gallavardin (p, cl)

 

BRUNCH MUSICAL COLOMBIEN - NILAMAYÉ
CONCERT- REPAS - INITIATION À LA DANSE

DIMANCHE 9 JUILLET, 12H

Nilamayé est un groupe de musique afro- colombien. Son répertoire est inspiré des musiques liées à l’eau de mers et de fleuves qui ont été synonymes de vie, de joie et de métissage. Avec la douce exubérance de ses voix, les tons chauds et enrobés du marimba de chonta, les sons profonds des cununos et des bombos, la brillance des guasas et des maracas et l’exubérance rythmique du tambour alegre, Nilamayé partage avec les auditeurs, la “joie contagieuse” des peuples colombiens. Vienne vibrera le temps d’un brunch au rythme de la Colombie.
Repli en cas de pluie / Plusieurs coins ombragés.

 

Avec le soutien du Département du Rhône
Musée de Saint-Romain-en-Gal - Vienne RD 502 - 69560 Saint-Romain-en-Gal - Tél. 04 74 53 74 01 - www.musees-gallo-romains.com